Ouch! Lesson learned

Gluten and sugar are very bad for me mmmkay

Holy freaking hell! That hurt!

I just left my chiropractor and realize that I truly need to give up store-bought baked goods. Prior to the boyfriend’s birthday, I had gone back on a semi-AIP diet (I cut out red meat, gluten, and dairy and went back to coconut cream for my coffee) to ease inflammation so my adjustments would go better and I could get back to feeling like a functioning adult.

It was working. I felt more mentally clear and had more energy than I have had lately. At the chiropractor, things were moving more easily, and I had less pain, even though I still needed to work on flexibility. So many satisfying cracks, less bloating, jeans fitting, and well back on my way to 5’9″!

an iced bundt cake

But after indulging in rib eye steak, baked potato, and a homemade regular red velvet cake that took a few days to eat since it was just the two of us… well, my body made sure to let me know in no uncertain terms that I should never do that again! At this week’s appointment, I couldn’t lift my legs from the hip 😭, my shoulders have returned to looking like camel humps (no actual edema, it’s inflammation and stress), and she had to take extra time and care to get things to loosen up to the point I was at 5 weeks ago! My bad choices caused three more weeks to be added to my care plan. I could barely get up from the table and walking felt like the hardest thing in the world.

The only silver lining to the pain was that I couldn’t even think about all the anger I was feeling and had been feeling for days. I came home, applied a generous amount of CBD balm to my hips, lower back, and neck, and proceeded to eat a handful of CBD gummies. After an hour, I was still in pain, so (thank goodness I live in Boston) I ordered something stronger for delivery.

Wednesday Update: I woke up this morning feeling like a human-being after a double dose of the new gummies (20:1 ratio), 800mg Advil, two cups of tea, the dogs actually being sane, the bf cooking dinner, and more 1:1 edibles before bed. I think I will repeat the tea and gummies tonight after dinner.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.